Smiles and Sunshine

Custom Crochet

A Dress out of a Dream… In Progress

on August 19, 2013

Tonight’s work in progress is one I’ve been anticipating for a while… It’s a beautiful tutu dress. I am working with a friend to create at least two of these beauties. I would love to show you a picture, but the pattern designer has made it clear that her pictures are her property, so I will have to send you to this Etsy shop where I purchased the pattern named “The Emma,” and you can view the gorgeous photos there.

This dress can easily be used for a bridesmaid dress or a party dress. I am in charge of crocheting the top part, also known as the bodice, and my friend will add the tulle tutu. We will each end up with one dress. She will give hers to her little girl, and mine will be for sale.

I’m using an off-white yarn that looked like cream in the store and looks very white in my living room. I think my friend will be using different colors of tutu material, maybe purples, blues, and white. I’m looking forward to seeing how they turn out!

The designer of these dresses sells the finished products for over $100 for little girl dresses. She also makes an adult sized dress that can be used as a wedding dress, which she sells for $200. I think it would be such an honor to crochet a wedding dress.

For now, this is all I have. I will try to post more pictures tomorrow. Hopefully I will have finished the straps and the edging by then. This version shows yarn markers, which will be removed. They help me to know where to stitch the straps. As you can see, I’ve started one strap, and it is time to start the next one.

20130819-222826.jpg

One response to “A Dress out of a Dream… In Progress

  1. The dress looks gorgeous, it will be so pretty in the lemon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

